Editorial: Company Time – Why work for SLA Industries?

sXe IndustriesOver at another German blog there was an article the other day which made us here happy. It was a German introduction to SLA Industries, complete with an introductionary adventureBPN concept (sadly without a proper BPN Form as a handout).

That introduction may have started with the statement that SLA Industries is amongst the games one should know (something to which we heartily agree), but it was sorely lacking in a reference to one of the primary reason why that is the case: The players.

Despite notoriously insecure future prospects, despite going through more publishers than you can shake a stick at, despite a long record of delayed, cancelled and now even minced products, questionable production values (say, how many pages do your books have left in them?), petty internet scandals and despite what else befell the game (and is yet to befall it in all likelihood), despite all this (and more) SLA Industries somehow managed to attract and keep a devoted and really outstanding playerbase.

Big deal, you say. All games, even the really obscure ones, have their fans – including those who make it felt that fan is indeed a contraction of fanatic.

The SLA Industries community stands out, though, due to two traditions running strongly through it: Productive creativity and tolerance. Both of them were probably born from the problems and worries of the game.

(Fanatic) enthusiasm combined with the on and off availability of official product (or indeed even an official publisher) drove the players to collective bouts of productivity time and time again. The results of that were far from being limited to a fan-site or two, a demo game, or a lonely article. Instead there resulted complete ‘zines (more than one actually), dozens of unofficial sourcebooks (some rivaling or even surpassing the core rulebook in length), handouts, „professional“ merchandise (by fans not by the publisher du jour), a sea of house rules, full conversions and entire scratch built rules‘ systems, a veritable mountain of material, growing, growing, growing …

… and universally welcomed. Obviously not everything ever created is used by everyone. Quite the contrary, amongst this flood of material anybody is bound to find more than one piece he would never ever like to see implemented at his own table. The sometimes radically different directions taken are not splitting the community, though. The work going into them is recognised and it is the common love of the game and the joy of exerting one’s own creativity based on the game that act as the ties that bind for the community, far more than the details of the material being produced.

For groups generally averse to using unofficial material all of this might not sound terribly relevant. But for us at d6Ideas it is one of the elementary strengths of SLA Industries, as these are the very values we swear by and also because at least some of us see themselves as being part of this productive SLA Industries community.

Over the last few months we tried to contribute to the wealth of SLA Industries material with four bilingual articles:
DEAD – a new corporate division and its dealings, along with a catalogue of their weapons and equipment developed to combat the Ebb powers of Ebons and Brain Wasters
Fear and Loathing in Los Muertos – drugs, drugs and yet more drugs
Got Soft Juice? – …and if you should somehow be fed up with drugs, why not go for a tasty energy drink? (Complete with random tables to generate your own brands and flavours…)
Kill the Ones You Love – BPN (with ready to go form for a handout ;)) for operatives, who are not overly attached to their friends and family

On top of that, we published to English only articles:
Good Clean Fun in the World of Progress – a look at the straight edge movement in the World of Progress, taking the shape of an in-character interview
The Killed Corps – a terrorist conspiracy, trying to „clean up“ SLA Industries from within, for use as either opponents, patrons or partners of the player characters

Finally, SLA Industries got an honorary mention in our very first “What is …?” article – Wer ist die Idiotessa? – though that was German only.

Surely we will see more than one article being added to that list in the future. For that, as we said, is one of the strengths of SLA Industries.

Perhaps that the next one will already appear in the next week? With the dice coming up a 5 for the number of articles, there should be room enough…

English articles:
On Monday, the intergalactic corporations – or rather its enemies – indeed makes an early reappearance. “The Folding Knife” is a dangerous artefact in the possession of murderous cultists, who always seem to be a step ahead of SLA Industries’ security forces.
On Thursday, we publish the next page of Shadom’s d6 Atlas, once more a map for use as a player handout or simply to drive your imagination for a new setting or locale.
On Friday, finally, we again find some love for The Red Star. “The Other Side of War” presents three new d20 Modern Advanced Classes geared specifically towards that setting.

German articles:
On Monday, “The Folding Knife” gets a German treatment. While we usually publish the English versions of our SLA Industries articles first, this time it was another German blog after all, which launched us upon this particular course.
On Thursday, the Atlas page appears accompanied by its original German text.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Editorial: Company Time – Warum für SLA Industries arbeiten?

sXe IndustriesDrüben bei der Aktion Abenteuer gab es in dieser Woche Erfreuliches zu lesen. Namentlich eine Einführung zu SLA Industries, sogar komplett mit AbenteuerBPN-Konzept (leider aber ohne Handout-Formular).

Zwar beginnt diese Einführung mit den Worten, dass SLA Industries zu den Spielen gehört, die man kennen sollte (was wir nur bestätigen können), aber einen aus unserer Sicht wirklich zentralen Grund dafür lässt sie völlig unerwähnt: Die Spieler.

Trotz stets ungewisser Zukunft, Verlagswechseln, verschobenen, abgesagten und gestückelten Produkten, fragwürdigen Produktionsstandards (wie viele Seiten haben denn eure Softcover-Regelwerke noch?), Backstory-Internet-Skandalen, und was dem Spiel sonst noch alles widerfahren ist (und mit an Sicherheit grenzender Wahrscheinlichkeit noch widerfahren wird), hat es SLA Industries auf irgendeine Weise geschafft eine ganz besondere Spielergemeinschaft aufzubauen und – was vielleicht noch viel erstaunlicher ist – auch zu binden.

Gut. Fans – auch und gerade solche wo die Wortverwandtschaft mit dem Fanatiker deutlich zum Tragen kommt – hat wohl so gut wie jedes Spiel, selbst die obskuren (wie SLA Industries) und obskursten.

Die SLA Industries-Gemeinde sticht aber durch zwei Traditionen heraus: Kreativität und Toleranz. Beide ein Beispiel dafür, wie aus der Not im besten Fall eine Tugend gemacht werden kann.

Zusammen mit der (fanatischen) Begeisterung haben gerade die Widrigkeiten seiner Veröffentlichungsgeschichte die Spieler des Systems immer wieder zu wahren Höhenflügen an Produktivität getrieben, nicht nur ein paar Fanseiten, ein Con-Abenteuer, oder mal ein einzelner Artikel, sondern komplette Fanzines (ja, mehr als eins und auch mit mehr als einer Ausgabe), Dutzende von inoffiziellen Sourcebooks (teilweise dicker als das Grundregelwerk), Handouts, „professionelles“ Merchandise (von Fans – nicht vom Verlag du jour), Hausregeln in Hülle und Fülle, Konvertierungen und direkt ganz neue Systeme, veritable Berge an Material, die nur wachsen und weiterwachsen …

… und die dabei quasi universell begrüßt werden. Natürlich verwendet nicht jede Gruppe alles, was von anderen Gruppen produziert wird. Ganz im Gegenteil, gerade bei so viel Material gibt es wohl für jeden Etliches, was ihm nicht an den eigenen Spieltisch kommen soll. Aber die radikal verschiedenen Richtungen, in die da teilweise gedacht und gespielt wird, entzweien die Gemeinschaft nicht. Das Schaffen, die Bemühung um und für das Spiel wird anerkannt und schweißt zusammen, selbst da wo die inhaltlichen Ansichten unterschiedlicher kaum sein könnten.

Für manche Gruppen, die generell ungerne inoffizielles oder auch nur fremdes Material verwenden, mag das alles nicht so besonders relevant sein. Für uns bei d6Ideas ist es aber eine elementare Stärke von SLA Industries, einmal weil wir genau diese Werte teilen und zum Anderen weil zumindest einige von uns sich als Teil dieser produktiven SLA Industries-Gemeinde sehen.

In den letzten Monaten haben wir versucht mit vier deutschen (eigentlich zweisprachigen) Artikeln zum Materialfundus für SLA Industries beizutragen:
DEAD – eine neue Konzernabteilung und ihre Machenschaften, vor allem aber ihr Katalog an Waffen und Ausrüstungsgegenständen, um sich gegen die Ebbkräfte von Ebons und Brain Wastern wehren zu können
Fear and Loathing in Los Muertos – Drogen, Drogen, und noch mehr Drogen
Got Soft Juice? – …und wenn man genug von Drogen hat, warum dann nicht einen leckeren Energy Drink? (Komplett mit Zufallstabellen zum Auswürfeln eigener Sorten…)
Kill the Ones You Love – BPN (mit Formular ;)) für Operatives, die nicht so sehr an ihren Freunden und Familien hängen

Dazu kommen noch zwei Artikel, die wir nur auf Englisch herausgebracht haben:
Good Clean Fun in the World of Progress – ein Blick auf die Straight Edge-Bewegung der World of Progress in Form eines Ingame-Interviews (nur auf Englisch.
The Killed Corps – eine Terrorverschwörung, die SLA Industries von innen heraus “säubern” möchte, und für die Spieler Gegner, Auftraggeber oder Partner sein könnte. Der Artikel ist nur auf Englisch erhältlich.

Darüber hinaus hat SLA Industries auch noch einen Eintrag (ehrenhalber) in unserem allerersten “Was ist …?”-Artikel – Wer ist die Idiotessa? – bekommen.

Und in Zukunft wird sicher noch mehr als ein Artikel dazukommen. Das, wie gesagt, ist eine der Stärken von SLA Industries.

Vielleicht ist es ja schon in der nächsten Woche soweit? Bei ausgewürfelten 5 Artikeln sollte ja eigentlich Platz genug sein…

Deutsche Artikel:
Am Montag kommt in der Tat der intergalaktische Konzern zum Zug, oder besser gesagt seine Feinde, denn “The Folding Knife” ist ein gefährliches Artefakt im Besitz von Kultisten, die den Sicherheitskräften von SLA Industries stets einen Schritt voraus zu sein scheinen.
Am Mittwoch präsentieren wir eine weitere Seite aus Shadoms d6 Atlas, diesmal wieder mit einer Karte als Handout oder Inspiration.

Englische Artikel:
Am Montag gibt es “The Folding Knife” auch auf Killan – wie Englisch in der Spielwelt von SLA Industries genannt wird.
Am Mittwoch erscheint auch der Atlas in Übersetzung.
Am Freitag wenden wir uns einmal mehr The Red Star zu. “The Other Side of War” führt drei neue d20 Modern Advanced Classes speziell für das Setting ein.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.